I’m using the term ‘blog’ as it’s accurate to the subject; however, any source of original syndicated content would apply. To assume that what I present here is limited to the scope of blogging is rather close minded.
As folks who know me are aware, I work at a video game development company. About a year and a half ago, I launched Gearblogs. The idea of a developer giving regular updates isn’t new. Generally, in the gaming industry, they are called Developer Diaries. I went with Gearblogs just to be a trend whore.
Anyway, we post to our diary/blog at least once a month. More specifically, our average is currently at 1.2 entries a month. The content is syndicated through RSS feeds and referenced in our forum community. Furthermore, each entry generally creates news hits (links) on various gaming websites.
While each entry pulls long term traffic, it’s a trickle. The real value comes with the intial posting. Most bloggers are already aware of this. In fact, I think the blog format tends to devalue older information to easily, but that’s another topic. Anyway, the other day I decided to really evaluate the traffic that these blogs pull in. The most important number to come from this is the average amount of hits each blog entry received:
11,000 hits per entry
So, how does that relate to $9,000+? Well, here’s how I got there… I hit Google Adwords and ran a slew of keyword related to our industry. The average cost per click came to $0.70. Thus, clicks by costs per click:
11,000 x $0.70 = $7,700
Remember from before, we’re posting 1.2 entries a month so:
$7,700 x 1.2 = $9,240
So what does this really mean? Simply put, if we were to PURCHASE the same traffic via ads such as Google Adwords, it would cost us an average of $9,240 each month.
There’s a lot more to consider here. For example, how much of this traffic comes from our community (already familiar with our brand) vs. new potential consumers? Keep in mind that our website simply serves to communicate with our customers. We do not have ads on our site nor do we directly sell a product on our site. That being the case, why would we ever actually spend money advertising our site?
Still, I thought it was an interesting way to look at the numbers. For a somewhat different website, this kind of thinking could heavily influence the bottom line.